top of page

Royal Tournament Round Up!

We've been quite quiet recently on the old blogging. But fear not, as we've been out and about competing and what a week's it's been. 

My only sporting goal that I set out for this year was to get back into the saddle, and at some stage, head out to compete (anywhere). Simple enough, right? 🤔 This week I've been given the privilege by the Royal Artillery Saddle Club  at Larkhill  to ride one of their hunters-turning- eventers, Geoff (great name I know) at the highlight of the military equestrian calendar The Royal Tournament. Coming from a life of hunting, I knew he was going to be fun...and nappy!. Not being properly in the saddle since September 2017, with my last competition in France, I expected to be barrelled over with being overwhelmed at the derby styled competition! This was exasibated with the fact I hadn't ridden Geoff before, but as they say "hey ho, let's crack on". I soon found out what my skill fade was to be! 

Taking myself back to basics, and rightly so,  I had been entered in the 85cm and 95cm classes. This was a great opportunity as I allowed myself to get to know Geoff and use this competition as a springboard to jump from (excuse the pun). I noticed that from all of my Sports Psychology I have been pursuing this last year that I excelled in my Psychological Skills Training. Using methods such as visualisation of my course as I felt I was going to ride it,  ascertaining 'the zone'  controlling my controllables; for the first time, I had no thoughts of "what if he runs out?" or "what will the audience thing of me?".. in other words I really did practice what I preached! 

Now here is where the physical element hit me, not riding for such a while has it's impact, we came to fense ten, a double with an oxer for he first element and an upright fo the second. I wasn't comitted this was reflected, we jumped scew-wiff, my shoulder was forward and o was in the light seat just after landing.. he napped and I went out the left side window, hitting my lower back upon the hard ground. Totally rider error! As the adrenaline wore off and the immovable stiffness pain kicked in, I thought to myself "oh bugger, this just isn't cricket!". Yet determination prevailed and we carried on to the next class! The next class came and went, the same fence I had trouble, I realised it's my Psychology which stopped me, I had already created an association of the fence and falling, I focused too much on that fence that I had 'paralysis by analysis'. We stopped, I had a refusal a the second element, part of my brain, the irrational chimp said "withdraw, you're not with it, what were you thinking you could do this?". I realised that this was my defense mechanism and I wasn't about to let it get me. 

My Chimp "Philip" as I call him tried to take advantage, at this point I locked him away and said under my own breath " you will do this Dan, that is Philip talking".  I took a step back, relaxed my shoulders, took a deep breath and carried on, from here we went on the have a clear round and some big pings by Geoff. In the end I had 8 faults with 2 time penalties Reflection is a great tool that we use in Psychology. Anything you do you can reflect on, picking up the laundry or shopping, taking the bins out, traveling to work, getting a workload done or how you play in sport, you reflect upon all these things. Such relfections can be as simple as " how could I have improved upon that" to complex " what, how, when, why and how can I improve and to what consequences".  That evening I reflected on what I could have done differently, my answer was to made sure I was back inthe saddle and prepared, therefore I was preventing the preventable! It's a great tool once you start using it. You should definitely give it a try!

 Coming away from th competition, Ihad already set out my goals, from here on in I set out my gold standard performance, not gold medal 🏅. Representing the  Queens Own Yeomanry and riding a Royal Artillery horse, I felt great pride (and very little stress) in taking part. I'm certainly looking forward to getting fully back into the saddle and returning to the game!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page